Provisional Term Dates 2020 to 2021

The School thought it would be helpful for planning purposes to set out provisional term dates for the next five years and more importantly, to explain to parents our model and what we are trying to achieve. We also thought it would be useful to understand the constraining factors on setting dates, so that when we deviate from our model or other aims, it is clearly understood why this has been done.

Our ideal model seeks to provide a framework to stretch the girls without stressing them or causing undue tiredness. In our experience, the ideal length of time between exeats and holidays should be three to four weeks, ie we seek to avoid a girl being in school for more than three consecutive weekends (we break this rule in the summer due to outgoing trips and examination leave providing most girls with a break from school).

We have surveyed girls to see where siblings attend schools and there is no pattern. Indeed, overlap with Tonbridge is nowhere near as significant as we expected, so moving forward we will seek to coincide as far as possible with HMC (Headmasters’ and Headmistresses’ Conference – effectively the trade body for top independent schools) published term dates, rather than keeping step necessarily with Tonbridge.

Our preferred model will have a 13 week Autumn Term, followed by a 10 week Spring Term and an 11 week Summer Term, with Exeats and Half Terms distributed as evenly as possible. Constraining factors are Oxbridge Entrance Papers (usually the first Wednesday in November), Easter and May and August bank holidays. You will see that these dates will sometimes affect the balance between the Spring and Summer Terms in particular.

We have published provisional dates below and will confirm these a year in advance at the end of each term. Any significant issues should please be brought to my attention at the earliest opportunity.

SPRING TERM 2020

Monday 6 January                                            8.30am                Staff return

Tuesday 7 January                                           5.30pm                Term Begins

Friday 24 January                                           12.30pm                Fixed Exeat Begins

Sunday 26 January                                          7.30pm                Fixed Exeat Ends

Friday 14 February                                         12.30pm                Half Term Begins

Sunday 23 February                                         7.30pm                Half Term Ends

Thursday 19 March                                           3.30pm                Term Ends


SUMMER TERM 2020

Sunday 12 April                                                                              Easter Sunday

Tuesday 14 April                                               8.30am                Staff return

Tuesday 14 April                                           5.30pm                    Term Begins

Friday 1 May                                                    12.30pm                Fixed Exeat Begins

Monday 4 May                                                   7.30pm                Fixed Exeat Ends

Friday 22 May                                                  12.30pm                Half Term Begins

Sunday 31 May                                                 7.30pm                Half Term Ends

Saturday 4 July                                                  4.30pm                Term Ends (after Speech Day)


    DATES 2020-2021 (PROVISIONAL)

AUTUMN TERM 2020

Monday 7 September                                       8.30am                Staff return

Tuesday 8 September                                      2.00pm                Six Two Students return to School

Tuesday 8 September                                      3.30pm                Six One Students return to School

Wednesday 9 September                               3.00pm                Current Lower School Students return

                                                                      4.00pm                New Lower School Students return

Friday 25 September                                     12.30pm                Fixed Exeat Begins

Sunday 27 September                                     7.30pm                Fixed Exeat Ends

Friday 16 October                                           12.30pm                Half Term Begins

Sunday 1 November                                        7.30pm                Half Term Ends

Friday 20 November                                      12.30pm                Fixed Exeat Begins

Sunday 22 November                                      7.30pm                Fixed Exeat Ends

Thursday 17 December                                   3.00pm                Term Ends


SPRING TERM 2021

Monday 4 January                                            8.30am                Staff return

Tuesday 5 January                                           5.30pm                Term Begins

Friday 22 January                                           12.30pm                Fixed Exeat Begins

Sunday 24 January                                          7.30pm                Fixed Exeat Ends

Friday 12 February                                         12.30pm                Half Term Begins

Sunday 21 February                                         7.30pm                Half Term Ends

Friday 12 March                                              12.30pm                Fixed Exeat Begins

Sunday 14 March                                              7.30pm                Fixed Exeat Ends

Thursday 25 March                                           3.30pm                Term Ends

Sunday 4 April                                                                                Easter Sunday
 

SUMMER TERM 2021

Monday 19 April                                                8.30am                Staff return

Tuesday 20 April                                           5.30pm                    Term Begins

Friday 30 April                                                 12.30pm                Fixed Exeat Begins

Monday 3 May                                                   7.30pm                Fixed Exeat Ends

Friday 28 May                                                  12.30pm                Half Term Begins

Sunday 6 June                                                  7.30pm                Half Term Ends

Saturday 3 July                                               4.30pm                Term Ends (after Speech Day)